USEFUL LINKS

University Founder



Dr.Ahmad Al-Hourani

Founder of Al-Ahliyya Amman University

In the name of God the Merciful and Compassionate On the occasion of starting the new academic year , I am pleased to highlight the University achievements in the following areas:


  • Excellent quality of graduates, which is mainly due to the principled faculty recruitment process of AAU professors and the professor's wisdom in dealing with their students, and is also due to the high professionalism enjoyed by the University President and deans in their fields, but it is further deepened by the prominent families that have raised these young men and women and taken excellent care of them throughout school and University lives. These combined factors give the students of Al-Ahliyya Amman University a clear distinction and harmony in the university and their professional life afterwards.
  • Upgrading the University equipment and facilities, on a yearly basis, in order to provide the right atmosphere for the students to achieve creativity and excellence regardless of the financial cost. Undoubtedly, this is positively reflected on the level of student qualifications in particular and the university standards in general.
  • Introducing Master's Degree programs in Law, Clinical Psychology, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Business Administration (MBA), in addition to the newly approved Master's Degree program in English Language and Literature. These programs have been introduced to meet the great demand of the job market.
  • Finally, we hope that the Council of Higher Education will adopt a fair approach in dealing with higher education institutions whether governmental or private, all of which are national institutions working on the development of the country and its prosperity under His Majesty King AbdullahII.

Quotations from Dr. Ahmad Mufleh Al-Hourani's Speeches about Al-Ahliyya Amman University


" Today, our university competes with the world's largest universities. Based on the AAU scientific and educational charter, which the university confirmed and was pursued by the distinguished professors, to build each year a new element, the university created a new generation who is able to serve the nation and society. "


" I was determined to establish the first private University in Jordan and in the Arab World, because I saw the sons of this nation who were not allowed to enroll in public universities due to their grades go abroad to complete their higher education. The university opened its doors to receive the first batch of students in 1990."


" I wish that this giant university will remain as I knew it an educational, ethical and scientific university which inscribes the map of the homeland in the heart of every graduate student, and raises the flag high and to be always proud of this great achievement."

A Synopsis about Dr. Ahmad Mufleh Al-Hourani


Ahmad Mufleh Al-Hourani was born on December 27, 1942 in Baqa Al-Gharbiyeh, Tulkarem, Palestine where he finished the elementary stage and then moved to the city of Tulkarem to complete the preparatory stage.


When Ahmad completed his secondary education or the "Matrek", he joined and then completed his University education at Damascus University and obtained two Bachelor Degrees in History and Law in a four year period.


While he was working at Abha as a history teacher, one of his peers, an Iraqi teacher, advised him to complete his higher education. So, he traveled to Egypt to obtain a Diploma in Tax legislation and a PhD in Economics from the University of Cairo, Egypt.


As he returned to Jordan and worked in the Central Bank, he wrote a book on Tax legislation and at the same time worked as a lecturer. At that point, Dr. Ahmad said , 'Because of favoritism and nepotism, I was ousted from the Bank of Cities and Villages for Development, and thought to work in the same year in free business. At this juncture, I submitted my resignation from the Central Bank out of the feeling of injustice. This feeling motivated me to expand later and determine to achieve success in my work".


Al-Hourani's savings at the time were not enough to allow him to initiate his dream project by establishing an Institute of Banking Studies. Although his need for the money did not exceed three thousand dinars, he borrowed the fund and established the Institute of Banking Studies. He explains that "Jordan at that time was witnessing a financial renaissance which enhanced my idea to establish the institute".


Because Al-Hourani was attracted to the educational sector, he decided to establish the "University School, which later expanded to include three branches in Amman ,at Tabarbour, Jbaiha and the University''. Like any investor looking to diversify his investments, Al-Hourani thought of investing in the industrial sector. And he said "I bought 400 thousand shares in the Jordan Dairy Company, which was a joint venture between the public and private sectors". He remarked that the company was suffering from sagging due to the government bureaucracy. Al-Hourani then directed his efforts to the private sector instead of the public sector in the dairy company. By using the mentality of the private sector, in the late eighties and early nineties, Al-Hourani, who holds a Bachelor Degree in Law and History (Arts), a Master Degree in Finance and a PhD in Economic Development returned to the educational sector.


He says "the idea of founding a private University occurred to me just when Jordan, like most countries at the time, was devoid of any non-governmental University''. Al-Hourani says" It was a big challenge to me. The University I was talking about needs an adventurous capital. Fulfilling the idea can be difficult because it is the first private university in Jordan and because the idea of its existence has to be accepted by people". "I determined to proceed with the project". He added that "I bought a piece of land to establish the University, and convinced investors to be partners with me in capital partnership until the project saw the light and reality and Al-Ahliyya Amman University became the first private University in Jordan.


The success of Dr. Ahmad in the three industrial, tourism and agricultural sectors made him the only businessman in Jordan who worked in these sectors and succeeded. His permanent motto was " maintaining the quality,pursuing honesty and above all, trusting in Allah. The results are determined by Him."

AMMAN WEATHER

الروابط المساندةسهم

بانر مؤسس جامعة عمان الأهلية بانر مؤسس جامعة عمان الأهلية موبايل

مؤسس جامعة عمان الأهلية


د. أحمد الحوراني

د. أحمد الحوراني
مؤسس جامعة عمان الأهلية

يسرني بمناسبة بدء العام الدراسي الجديد لجامعة عمان الأهلية أن أؤكد على تحقيق توجهات الجامعة في النواحي التالية:


  • تحقيق التميّز النوعي للخريجين والذي يعود أساساً إلى حسن تأهيلهم نتيجة للاختيار المسؤول لأساتذتهم والحزم المدروس في التعامل معهم والكفاءة العالية التي يتمتع بها رئيس الجامعة والعمداء كلٌ في مجال اختصاصه، ويعمّق هذا التوجه ويفعله الأسر المميزة التي تحتضن هؤلاء الطلبة في مرحلة ما قبل الدراسة الجامعية وخلالها مما يعطي طلاب جامعة عمان الأهلية تميزاَ واضحاً وانسجاماً مميزاً خلال فترة الدراسة وما بعدها، أقصد العمل الذي يسند إليهم ما بعد التخرج.
  • تستكمل الجامعة وفي كل عام التجهيزات والمرافق التي تساعد الطالب على توفير الجو الملائم لإبداعه وتميّزه مهما بلغت التكاليف، والتي تنعكس بدون أدنى شك على مستوى الطالب وتأهيله بصورة خاصة وعلى الجامعة بصورة عامة.
  • ورغبة في توفير التخصصات التي تلبي حاجات سوق العمل طرحت برنامج ماجستير الحقوق وماجستير علم النفس الإكلينيكي وماجستير العلوم الصيدلانية وبرنامج الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال (MBA)، كما تمت الموافقة على استحداث برنامج ماجستير اللغة الإنجليزية وآدابها.
  • متمنياً على مجالس التعليم العالي أن يتوخى العدالة في التعامل مع مؤسسات التعليم العالي حكومية كانت أم خاصة ، فجميعها مؤسسات وطنية تعمل على رفعة الوطن وازدهاره في ظل حضرة صاحب الجلالة الملك عبد الله الثاني المعظم حفظه الله ورعاه.

من أقوال الدكتور أحمد الحوراني عن جامعة عمان الأهلية


" جامعتنا هذه أصبحت اليوم تنافس كبرى الجامعات العالمية، انطلاقاً من ميثاقها العلمي والتربوي، الذي أكدته وسار على دربه الأساتذة الأفاضل، لنبني كل سنة لبنة جديدة، فأثمرت هذه اللبنات جيلاً جديداً قادراً على خدمة أمته ومجتمعه. "


" ولأنني رأيت أبناء الوطن الذين لا تسمح لهم معدلاتهم بالالتحاق في الجامعات الحكومية يغتربون من أجل إكمال دراساتهم العليا في الخارج عزمت على إنشاء أول جامعة خاصة في الأردن والوطن العربي، وفتحت أبوابها لاستقبال الفوج الأول من طلبتها عام 1990."


" آمل لهذه المؤسسة العملاقة أن تبقى كما عهدتها، جامعة تربوية أخلاقية، علمية، ترسم خارطة الوطن، في قلب كل خريج، لنرفع الراية عالية خفاقة، لنفخر دوماً بهذه الإنجازات العظيمة."

نبذة عن حياة الدكتور أحمد مفلح الحوراني


ولد الدكتور أحمد الحوراني في 27/ ديسمبر/1942 في باقة الشرقية/ قضاء طولكرم بفلسطين ، والتحق في بداية تعليمه بالمدرسة الابتدائية هناك، ثم انتقل إلى مدينة طولكرم؛ ليكمل المرحلة الإعدادية فيها، وأخذ يتدرّج في تعليمه الثانوي أو ما يُعرف بالمترك، وبعدها سافر إلى دمشق، فأنهى فيها المرحلة الجامعية الأولى فحصل على شهادتي بكالوريوس في أربع سنوات في تخصصي التاريخ والحقوق.


عمل الحوراني مدرّسا لمادة التاريخ في مدينة أبها في المملكة العربية السعودية، وكان أستاذا لامعا ومتفوّقا على جميع أقرانه هناك، وهذا التميّز اللافت حدا بأحد زملائه من المدرسين العراقيين أن يسديَ له النصيحة؛ فرجلٌ بمثل هذا الذكاء لا يكفي أن يشعر بتميّزه ويجب عليه أن يترجم هذا التميّز بمواصلة دراساته العليا، ولا يكتفي بهذا الحد من التحصيل العلمي، وأصغى الدكتور أحمد الحوراني إلى هذا النُّصح، وانطلق لمواصلة دراسته، فسافر إلى مصر، وحصل على دبلوم التشريع الضريبي، ومن ثمَّ درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة القاهرة.


وبعد عودته إلى الأردن، شغل وظائف عديدة ؛ فعمل في البنك المركزيّ، وفي تلك الفترة ألّف كتابا في التشريع الضريبي، وفي الوقت نفسه، كان محاضرا في معهد الدراسات التابع للبنك المركزيّ، ثم انتُدب للعمل في بنك تنمية المدن والقرى ليشغل وظيفة نائب المدير العام، ولِما يتمتّع به الحوراني من قدرات وتميّز، هُيّئ له أن يكون المدير العام بعدها، إلا أن المَحْسوبية التي لا يتجرّد منها مجتمعنا حالت دون ذلك، مما أدى إلى شعوره بالإحباط وقال وقتئذٍ: " بعد أن أُطيح بي من إدارة بنك تنمية المدن والقرى بسبب المحسوبية فكّرتُ أن أنطلق في العام نفسه إلى عالم العمل الحر، وقدّمت استقالتي من البنك المركزيّ لشعوري بالظلم؛ وهو الشعور الذي دفعني لأن أعتمد على نفسي، وأصمّم على النجاح في عملي الحر".


وعلى الرّغم من عدم توافر رأس المال الكافي ليشق الحوراني طريقه في مشروعه الحلم وهو إنشاء معهد للعلوم المصرفية، إلا إنّه وبعزم رجل الأعمال الناجح، استطاع مع زمرة من أصدقائه الثقات الذين كانوا يعملون معه في البنك المركزي، من إنشاء المعهد، ولا سيما أن الأردن آنذاك كان يشهد نهضة مالية عززت لديه الفكرة بتأسيس المعهد.


ولم يتوقف فكر هذا الرجل العِصَاميّ إلى هذا الحد، فقد وسّعَ نطاق استثماراته، وكونه في بداية حياته العملية شغل وظيفة مدرّس، بقي منشدّا إلى قطاع التعليم، فكان مشروعه الثاني في هذا القطاع الحيوي، فأسس مدارس الجامعة التي توسعت فيما بعد لتضم ثلاثة أفرع في عمان بمناطق طبربور، والجبيهة، والجامعة. ثم ّ وسّع الحوراني نطاق مشاريعه الاستثمارية، شأنه في ذلك شأن أي رجل أعمال ناجح يتطلع إلى التنويع والتطوير، فامتدّ إلى القطاع الصناعي فيقول:" اشتريت 400 ألف سهم في شركة الألبان الأردنية التي كانت شركة مساهمة بين القطاعين العام والخاص" ويشير بذلك إلى أن هذه الشركة كانت تعاني من الترهل بسبب البيروقراطية الحكومية، فسعى جاهدا إلى النهوض بها من خلال إحلال القطاع الخاص مكان القطاع العام في الشركة، لتتحول شركة الألبان ،الشركة المترهّلة، إلى شركة ناجحة بعقلية القطاع الخاص.


وفي أواخر الثمانينيات ومطلع التسعينيات عاد الحوراني ، الذي يحمل درجة البكالوريوس في الحقوق والآداب، والماجستير في المالية والدكتوراه في التنمية الاقتصادية، إلى قطاع التعليم مجددا يقول:" كانت تراودني فكرة تأسيس جامعة خاصة، كما كان الحال في معظم دول العالم في وقت كان الأردن يخلو من أي جامعة غير حكومية" وكان التحدي كبيرا أمام الحوراني؛ فالجامعة التي كان يتحدث عنها تحتاج إلى رأس ما (مغامرة) كونها أول جامعة خاصة في الأردن، وتقبّل فكرة وجودها لدى الناس قد يكون صعبا، لكن عزم الحوراني ونظرته الثاقبة جعلته يسير قُدُما بالمشروع وبخطوات راسخة فيقول:" عزمت على المشروع...واشتريت قطعة أرض لتقام عليها الجامعة، واقتنع مستثمرون على مضض بالدخول معي في شراكة رأس المال حتى رأى المشروع النور لتكون جامعة عمان الأهلية أول جامعة خاصة في الأردن".


نعم، هكذا توالت نجاحات الدكتور أحمد الحوراني في شتى القطاعات: الصناعي والسياحي والزراعي والتعليمي ليصبح بذلك رجل الأعمال نسيج وحده في الأردن الذي خاض غمار القطاعات كافة، ونجح فيها وكان حازما وشعاره دائما:" الصدق والمحافظة على النوعية وقبل ذلك كله التوكل على الله سبحانه وتعالى".


حياة د. أحمد الحوراني